I Hate Career Fairs

March 15, 2010 at 7:57 pm (Uncategorized)

I just wanted to make that clear.  I paid good money to attend a career fair in DC last week– like some girl who believes maybe if she goes to this bar the man of her dreams will be there.  I knew he wasn’t going to be there, but I felt like I should always be doing something since I won’t find him  in my current office. 

The fair was geared toward “mid-level” career seekers, whatever that means.  I know I’m not fresh out of college and I know I’m not a senior executive–where else I fall on the infamous career ladder between those two ranks depends on the institution or company.  Looking-in from the outside I can’t see over the gray cubicle divider.  It’s like going through adolescence all over again without the pimples.

At University, I remember snaking my way through perky brunettes and other aggressive types storming to the front of the table with those self-made business cards.  This time around, I was competing with individuals in their 40s and 50s.  We all had appropriate business cards paid for by our companies, thankfully, but I was depressed.  As a friend stated the other day, “when do jobs start to come to me? When does that part of my career begin?”  If you are lucky and strategic and well-connected I suppose.  There were a lot more gray and bald heads than bottle blondes at that fair.  I’m just saying that figuring out what comes next professionally or personally never ends.  Hopefully, career fairs will.

Leave a Reply

