Climate Change and Me

July 28, 2010 at 9:32 pm (Uncategorized)

Leading scientist John Holdren says “global warming” is not the correct term to use; he prefers “global disruption.” “‘Global warming’ [is] misleading. It implies something that’s mainly about temperature, that’s gradual, and that’s uniform across the planet,” says Holdren. “In fact, temperature is only one of the things that’s changing. It’s a sort of an index of the state of the climate. The whole climate is changing: the winds, the ocean currents, the storm patterns, snow packs, snowmelt, flooding, droughts. Temperature is just a bit of it.”  —Democracy NOW!

Feast or famine. Drought or flood.  Why climate change works this way is disturbing and unsettling to many populations.  In your personal life climate change is annoying.  Isn’t balance the secret to happiness?

I’ve been job searching for months trying to find the right fit for the nebulous, mid-level, IR professional.  Despondent, dejected, and rejected I couldn’t bear to craft one more cover letter or one more coffee date.  The offers that came were more depressing than the present.  When an offer I liked finally materialized, I snatched it up. I rejoiced the end of checking job sites daily, of trying my luck on Linked In, and stealthily sneaking out of my office for informational interviews.

I am grateful for having a job during these past two years of economic recession.  The week I literally accepted a new offer I started getting interviews.  Yes, interviewS.  Places that I had networked and applied to months and months ago finally wrote back.  I’ve found the untimely news stressful, but an opportunity.  When it rains it pours.  I’ve just been without rain for so long I don’t own an umbrella. I left it in the coat check at some lame party in my more optimistic twenties. I’m huddled under a soggy newspaper navigating unchartered waters, thankful I’m wet again, just wish I wasn’t wearing jeans.

Life never gives us what we want at the moment that we consider appropriate. Adventures do occur, but not punctually. –E.M. Forster, A Passage to India

Leave a Reply

