Advice from LeBron James

August 2, 2010 at 5:51 pm (Uncategorized)

In Cleveland, fans considered James’ departure a betrayal that ranks second to Art Modell‘s efforts to relocate the Cleveland Browns to Baltimore.[107] Cleveland Cavaliers (Cavs) majority owner Dan Gilbert almost immediately published an open letter to fans, denouncing James’ decision as a “selfish”, “heartless”, “callous”, and “cowardly betrayal”, while guaranteeing that the Cavs would win an NBA title before the “self-declared former King.”[108] Gilbert’s sports-memorabilia company Fathead also lowered the price of wall graphics depicting James from $99.99 to $17.41, the birth year of Benedict Arnold.[109] William Rhoden of The New York Times defended James by stating that Gilbert’s “venomous, face-saving personal attack”, along with the ensuing “wrath of jersey-burning fans”, only validated James’ decision to leave Cleveland.[110] J. A. Adande of ESPN said, however, that James chose to promote the drama of his decision in an hour-long television special instead of showing “common courtesy” to notify Cleveland and other teams of his plans.[111] On July 12, 2010, NBA Commissioner David Stern fined Gilbert $100,000 for the letter’s contents, while also criticizing the way James handled free agency.[112]

I empathize with LeBron.

LeBron James and I have a lot in common these days.  He is a 6 foot 8 inch, 250 pound man– I am 5 foot 3.5 inch woman sometimes with an appetite of a 250 pound man.  He was the first overall pick in the 2003 NBA draft–I was awarded for the highest Spirit and Merit award in 8th grade in 1993.  LeBron won Olympic medals–I went to the Olympics Closing Ceremonies in 1996.  We are practically twins.  So, I understand his decision to leave his hometown Cleveland Cavs.  Sometimes you just got to do whats best for your career.  Haven’t the Cavs fans been watching Celebrity Apprentice?  It’s not personal; it’s business.

And maybe LeBron was just tired of Ohio.  Perhaps all that “lake effect” had gotten to his head–he wasn’t sleeping properly and needed some sunshine and good Cuban sandwiches.  Basically, LeBron got a better offer and he’s sorry that he had to burn some bridges in the process.

Taking advice from LeBron, I recently backed out of a job two days prior to the official start date.  I didn’t want to break up with them over the phone and on email, but I was out-of-town and they were out of the country.  I’m burning a bridge, but luckily no one is burning jerseys with my name.  I’ve dealt with guilt and cranky HR professionals though.  I wish I could have given more notice, that the order of things could have been different, but this is how the timing worked–it was out of my control.  The Miami Heat came to me with a better offer and I want to wear a NBA championship ring one day.   What would you do?  WWJD?  LeBron and I stand strong.

1 Comment

  1. sarah said,

    you go girl!!

Leave a Reply

