The Wedding Industrial Complex

August 3, 2010 at 6:09 pm (Uncategorized)

Chelsea Clinton, Chelsea clinton wedding, vera wang, vera wang wedding, wedding dress

This past Saturday, I was a bridesmaid in a wedding in New York.  And while it was not the wedding in New York, it was a beautiful wedding with two very talented and in love friends.  In the midst of the exorbitant costs of hosting a wedding party today in the New York tri-state area, many forget that the best weddings are usually the ones where the personalities of the couple shine through the TV shows/Bride Magazines/hype industrial complex.

At Chelsea Clinton’s wedding, the following poem was read:

“The Life That I Have” by the late British poet Leo Marks

The life that I have
Is all that I have
And the life that I have
Is yours

The love that I have
Of the life that I have
Is yours and yours and yours.

A sleep I shall have
A rest I shall have
Yet death will be but a pause

For the peace of my years
In the long green grass
Will be yours and yours
And yours

Apparently, the author was a cryptographer in World War II and used his poetry to hide messages for the British forces.  This love poem had nothing to do with the War, but I loved the idea of complexities and layers of meaning even in a simple line. The author wrote the poem for a deceased girlfriend and in his memoir noted, “I transmitted a message to her which I’d failed to deliver when I’d had the chance.”

The Wedding Industrial Complex has nothing on a free well-versed expression of love.  The wedding last Saturday turned this well-seasoned bridesmaid into a hopeful…at least for the weekend.

Leave a Reply

