Summer is Overrated…There I Said It

September 13, 2010 at 12:47 am (Uncategorized)

fall tree

It’s official–summer is winding down and most of my friends are in denial.  Sure, I love me some beach side time–sun on my face, toes in the sand, burgers on the grill.  But is that really the day-to-day reality of summer in the city?  More like humidity in the face, mosquitos on my skin, and office AC that freezes my sweat before I can log on.  DC has a lovely fall, a mild (even with last year’s snowmaggeden) winter, and a very noteworthy spring (see previous post).

My summer loving friends, this is not the end–it is the start of crispness!

So put away the Ts and tanks and brown flip flops (they aggravate plantar fasciitis anyway!). It’s time for the annual change of the wardrobe guard.

Hello grandma sweaters–I missed you!

Hello stylish boots–forgive me, while some girls wore you all year round I lie in wait for an appropriate breeze.

Corduroy that stays dry in the rain–nice to meet you again–it’s been a while!

Hola scarves and pashminas; Bonjour mon béret!

Gloves and jackets of leather and suede.

Capes, trenches, hoodies: a family that I respect.

Black, brown, blue, green, and heather charcoal gray.

Turtlenecks, I didn’t forget about you!

Hail the return of cozy nights, dark hot chocolate at CoCo Sala, and spiced brandy apple drinks at the Tabard Inn!

Autumn on the East Coast, I’ve been waiting for you.

Leave a Reply

